Algebra-Geometry-Topology Seminar 2013

Previous year: AGT Seminar 2012.

Semester 2, 2013

Monday-Thursday 4 to 7 November, JH Michell Theatre Richard Berry.
A series of talks on Representation Theory in Geometry, Topology and Combinatorics: Throughout the week.
Friday 8 November, 12:00-13:00 Russell LoveTheatre, Richard Berry.
Robert Bryant (Duke University): The geometry of periodic equi-Poisson sequences.
Friday 8 November, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Josh Howie (Melbourne): Boundary Slopes Of Generalised Alternating Knots.
Friday 15 November, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Arjeh Cohen (Eindhoven): Riemann surface models and regular maps.
Friday 22 November, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
David Roberts (Adelaide): An explicit String bundle.
Thursday and Friday 28-29 November, 9:00-17:00, Russell Love Theatre, Richard Berry.
Victorian Algebra Conference
Friday 6 December, 213 Richard Berry.
Ivan Ip (Kavli IPMU, University of Tokyo): Positive Representations of Split Real Quantum Groups.
Next year: AGT Seminar 2014.

Summer Program

Thursday 10 January, 11:00-12:00, 213 Richard Berry
Nick Sheridan (Princeton/IAS): Homological mirror symmetry.
Tuesday 22 January, 15:15-16:15, JH Michell Theatre, Richard Berry.
Boris Mitavskiy (Aberystwyth University): Geiringer-like Theorems for Decision Making in the Environments with Randomness and Incomplete Information.
Friday 15 February, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Masoud Khamgarpour (University of Queensland): Topics in Geometric Langlands Program.
Thursday 21 February, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Jonathan Spreer (University of Queensland): Combinatorial Seifert Fibred spaces with transitive cyclic automorphism group.
Friday 22 February, 14:15-15:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Stephan Tillmann (University of Sydney): Combinatorics of Triangulations and Volume Optimisation.
Friday 1 March, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Motohico Mulase (UC Davis): The mirror symmetric dual of the number of trees.

Semester 1, 2013

Friday 8 March, 16:00-17:00, 213 Richard Berry.
David Ayala (University of Southern California): Excisive invariants of manifolds and links.
Friday 15 March, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
David Smyth (ANU): Log minimal model program for Mg.
Friday 22 March, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Michael Coons (Newcastle): Arithmetic and Diophantine properties of low-complexity numbers.
Friday 29 March: no seminar (non-teaching period).
Friday 5 April: no seminar (non-teaching period).
Friday 12 April, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Jarod Alper (ANU): Stability for (bi)canonical curves.
Friday 19 April, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Henry Segerman (University of Melbourne): Regular triangulations and the index of a cusped hyperbolic 3-manifold.
Friday 10 May, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Paul Sobaje (University of Melbourne): On Lusztig's Conjecture.
Friday 17 May, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Nora Ganter (University of Melbourne): Finite 2-groups, their representations and characters.
Friday 24 May, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Daniel Mathews (Monash University): Sutures, quantum groups and topological quantum field theory.
Friday 31 May, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Zhou Zhang (University of Sydney): Globally Existing Kahler-Ricci Flow.
Tuesday 4 June, 14:15-15:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Finnur Lárusson (University of Adelaide): An Oka principle for equivariant isomorphisms.
Wednesday 5 June, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Omar Ortiz (University of Melbourne): p-compact Schubert calculus. Completion Seminar
Friday 14 June, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Martina Lanini (University of Melbourne): Fock spaces and Hecke algebras.
Thursday 20 June, 15:15-16:15, Russell Love Theatre, Richard Berry.
Pramod Achar (Louisiana State): Geometric Satake, Springer correspondence, and small representations.
Friday 21 June, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Xiang Fu (University of Melbourne): The dominance partial ordering in Coxeter groups.

Winter Break

Wednesday 10 July, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Anthony Henderson (Sydney): The modular generalized Springer correspondence.
Thursday 11 July, 14:15-15:15, Russell Love Theatre, Richard Berry.
James Withers (Melbourne): Hecke decomposition of modular forms. Completion Seminar.
Friday 12 July, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Lisa Carbone (Rutgers): Simply laced Lie algebras and Kac--Moody algebras with built--in structure constants.
Wednesday 17 July, 15:15-16:15, Russell Love Theatre, Richard Berry.
Daniel Schaeppi (Chicago/Western Ontario): Fontaine-Laffaille filtered modules as coherent sheaves.
Friday 19 July, 15:15-16:15, Russell Love Theatre, Richard Berry.
Emily Riehl (Harvard): Homotopy coherent adjunctions and the formal category theory of quasi-categories.

Semester 2, 2013

Wednesday 31 July, 13:00-14:00, 107 Richard Berry.
Jeff Hoffstein (Brown Univ.): Simultaneous non-vanishing of pairs of automorphic L-functions.
Thursday 1 August, 12:45-13:45, Russell Love Theatre, Richard Berry
SPECIAL COLLOQUIUM Jeff Hoffstein (Brown Univ.): Lattices and public key cryptography.
Friday 2 August, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Alex Amenta (ANU): Harmonic analysis in non-Euclidean non-symmetric settings.
Friday 2 August, 16:15-17:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Kowshik Bettadapura (ANU): Supermanifolds and Invariants.
Friday 9 August, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Mingyao Xu (Peking University): On p-central p-groups.
Friday 16 August, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Maurice Chiodo (University of Milan/University of Neuchatel: Quotients of groups by torsion elements.
Wednesday 21 August, 15:15-16:15, 215 Richard Berry.
Amy Pang (Stanford): Card Shuffling and other Hopf-Power Markov Chains.
Friday 23 August, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Simon Marshall: Lp bounds for eigenfunctions on locally symmetric spaces.
Friday 30 August, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Stephen Griffeth (Talca/Melbourne): Representation theory, combinatorics, and orthogonal polynomials.
Friday 6 September, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Frances Kirwan (Oxford): Hyperkähler implosion.
Friday 13 September, 15:15-16:15, 213 Richard Berry.
Paul Norbury (University of Melbourne): Small degree Gromov-Witten invariants of the 2-sphere.
Monday 16 September 11:00-12:00 in Room 107 Richard Berry.
Claus Michael Ringel (University of Bielefeld): The Auslander bijections.
Monday 16 September, 18:00-19:00, Cuming Theatre Chemistry, 26th BEHREND MEMORIAL LECTURE
Claus Michael Ringel (University of Bielefeld): Linked Circles: Geometry - Topology - Algebra.
Tuesday 17 September, 11:00-12:00, Old Geology Theatre 1
Laurent Manivel (CNRS, Grenoble): The Tits-Freudenthal magic square in algebra and geometry.
Tuesday 17 September, 14:15-15:15, Russell Love Theatre Richard Berry.
Daniel Groves (University of Illinois Chicago): Covers, curvature and cubes.
Wednesday 18 September, 15:15-16:15, 215 Richard Berry.
David Smyth (Australian National University): Quotients in Algebraic Geometry.
Thursday 26 September, 14:00-15:00, Room 402, Doug McDonnell.
Jose Ayala-Hoffmann (Melbourne): Classification of the Homotopy classes and minimal length elements in spaces of bounded curvature paths.
Friday 27 September, NO SEMINAR
Friday 4 October (Non teaching week), NO SEMINAR
AUSTMS MEETING BREAK No seminar
Monday 7 October, 14:00-15:00, Room 345, Building 28, Monash University
Akshay Venkatesh (Stanford): Dynamics and the geometry of numbers.
Thursday 10 October, 12:30-13:30, Russell Love Theatre, Richard Berry.
Akshay Venkatesh (Stanford): From spherical harmonics to spherical varieties: harmonic analysis on homgeneous spaces and the Langlands program.
Thursday 10 October, 18:00-19:00, JH Michell Theatre.
Akshay Venkatesh (Stanford): How to stack oranges in three dimensions, 24 dimensions, and beyond.
Tuesday 15 October, 10:30-11:30, Old Geology Theatre 1
Christian Haesemeyer (University of California, Los Angeles): Algebraic invariants of singularities.
Tuesday 15 October, 13:00-14:00, Old Geology Theatre 1
Aaron Lauda (University of Southern California): An introduction to diagrammatic categorification.
Wednesday 16 October, 14:15-15:15, Old Geology Theatre 2
Stefano Bianchini (SISSA Treiste): Quadratic interaction potential and regularity of BV solutions to conservation laws.
Thursday 17 October, 15:15-16:15, Old Geology Theatre 2
Kari Vilonen (Northwestern University): Hodge theory and Representation Theory.
Friday 18 October, 15:15-16:15, Room 213 Richard Berry
Marcy Robertson (University of Western Ontario): A graph theoretic approach to `up to homotopy' algebras.
Tuesday 22 October, COLLOQUIUM 12:00-13:00, Russell Love Theatre Richard Berry
Mathai Varghese (University of Adelaide): (Fractional) index theory and (fractional) applications.
Friday 25 October, Pure Maths Masters completion seminars 14:00-15:30 and 16:00-17:00, Staff Tea Room
Kamil Bulinski 14:00-14:30: Special cube complexes and the virtual Haken conjecture
Leon Di Stefano 14:30-15:00: The geometry of covariance selection
Angus McAndrew 15:00-15:30: Maeda's conjecture on elliptic and Siegel modular forms
Eddy Qiu 16:00-16:30: Hecke algebras from groups acting on trees
Robert Usher 16:30-17:00: Representation and character theory of finite 2-groups
Monday-Thursday 28 to 31 October, JH Michell Theatre Richard Berry.
Martina Lanini (Melbourne): Moment graph tasting plate: A short course for graduate students in research in Algebra.
Monday-Thursday 28 to 31 October, JH Michell Theatre Richard Berry.
Joan Licata (ANU): Introduction to Contact Geometry: A short course for graduate students in research in Topology.
Monday-Thursday 28 to 31 October, JH Michell Theatre Richard Berry.
Dave Anderson (IMPA Brazil): Geometry of Schubert varieties: A short course for graduate students in research in Algebraic Geometry.
Friday 1 November, Russell Love Theatre, Richard Berry.
International Graduate Student visitors
9:00-9:45 Neil Saunders: Nilpotent Orbits, The Springer Correspondence and Springer Fibres
9:45-10:30 Jacopo Gandini: A generalization of the Bruhat decomposition
11:00-11:45 Emanuele Ghedin: Symplectic reflection algebras via quantized Nakajima quiver varieties
11:45-12:30 Rollo Jenkins: TBA
14:00-14:45 Antonio Sartori: Diagram algebras from Soergel modules categorifying gl(1|1)-representations
14:45-15:30 Alexander Weekes: Yangians and the affine Grassmannian
16:00-16:45 Jacinta Perez Gavilan Torres: The Plactic Monoid and MV Cycles